top of page

Sigma Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®, Elk Grove, California was chartered on January 20, 1990.

Charter Members: Gwendolyn Aaron, Dorothy Earl, Lorraine Emery, Verbena Gregory, Eula Hollis, Casandra Moore-Hudnall, Mary Louise Mack, Terri Mack , Priscilla Marsh , Charlotte E. Williams, Barbara Smith-Nash, Martha Pennington, Susan Preston, Imogene Rhodes, Marietta Scott, Alfreda Thompson, Lynn Flannigan-Williams, and Sallie Wilson. 

Chapter Presidents: Marietta Scott, Priscilla Marsh, Gwendolyn Taylor, Sandra Watson, Barbara Smith-Nash (1994-1997), Sandra O. Poole (1998-2001) Gloria Clemons-White (2002-2005), Mertie Shelby (2006-2007), Dorothy J. Smith (2008 -2011), Toya P. Davis (2012-2015), Kamieka Hairston (2016-2019), Brittnee Gillespie Malone (2020-2021) and Yvette L. Smith-Smith (Current).


More than thirty years later, Sigma Delta Omega continues to serve the Elk Grove community, and we’re committed to continue the legacy of those who came before us.

1st Runner Up for HBCU for Life


1st Place for Economic Legacy


1st Place for The ARTS!


1st Place for Overall Excellence


1st Runner Up for Women's Health/Wellness


1st Runner Up for Global Impact



Learn more about

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

International Programs

Learn more about the Organization's International Programs


Meet our Chapter Executive Board and Current Members! 

Prospective members


Learn more on how you can join our chapter

bottom of page